THE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF PALM BEACH COUNTY Annual Membership Meeting and Reception









SUMMER 2023 PALM BEACH SOCIETY

resident and CEO Jeremy Johnson reviewed the achievements and events of the prior year, recognizing all of the Historical Society of Palm Beach County (HSPBC) professional team and volunteers who made them possible. He thanked member and docent John Turgeon for generously underwriting a new addition to the permanent galleries of the Richard and Pat Johnson Palm Beach County History Museum, entitled Flagler: Building a Tropical Paradise. The meeting was held in the historic courtroom, where Henry Flagler was also featured in artist Serge Strosberg's exhibit, Reimagining Palm Beach.

A highlight of the meeting is always presentation of the HSPBC's community awards. The 2022 Judge James R. Knott Historical Contribution Award was awarded to both the **Worth Avenue Association** for their Historic Walking Tours in Palm Beach, and to **Rick Rose**, who has conducted the tours for many years. Rose said, "Since returning to Palm Beach County 18 years ago, I rediscovered my hometown and its unique history, which I've become passionate about preserving and promoting for future generations. I feel deeply honored that the Historical Society of Palm Beach County chose to recognize that passion."

The 2022 Fannie James Pioneer Achievement Award was presented to the **Juno Beach Historical Society** for the many ways in which it has made the history of the Town of Juno Beach accessible, including a walking tour with a mobile app. **Jim Ferguson**, also an archival volunteer at the HSPBC, received the award and displayed wayfinding products the society had created. All 10 members of the society were in attendance.

HSPBC Board Chair **Richard Johnson** announced the Board changes for the 2023-2024 fiscal year, which included no new board members and two retiring members.

For more information call 561.832.4164, ext. 100 or visit pbchistory.org.

FIRST ROW Jeremy Johnson and Richard Johnson; John Turgeon with Annette and Rabbi Joel Levinson; **SECOND ROW**: Jorge Pesquera, Rick Rose and Milton Segarra; Frank Steinhart and Daren Rubenfeld; **THIRD ROW**: Jim Ferguson and Matthew Pazanski; Carol and Tom Kirchhoff; **FOURTH ROW**: John Archer, Mark Stevens and Jeff Alderton; Hampton Beebe and Alex Griswold. PHOTOS: CAPEHART



